Montana Department of Transportation


View the Governor’s Coronavirus Task Force site for more information.

Main Content

Motor Carrier Services

Navigation - Condensed

Effective 06/01/2020, MCS will begin taking walk in customers wishing to obtain permits as well as IRP and IFTA registrations. In order to meet the social distancing requirements, we will limit 2 customers in the office at a time. You may schedule an appointment to work with a License and Permit Tech by calling 406-444-6130. For time and efficiency MCS continues to encourage the use of our online License and Permit system known as ePART. See our Online Carriers page.

Diesel Fuel Users: Please be advised that the National and State Covid-19 Emergency Declaration does not include the ability to use non-taxed diesel fuel (dyed diesel) in motor vehicles traveling on public roads and highways. Using dyed diesel on Montana roadways could be result in a penalty not to exceed $1,000.00 for a first offense and $5,000.00 for a second offense.

USDOT Number updates: needed for Intrastate and Interstate carriers, this is a free service that is done by FMCSA and MCS/MDT. You will not receive calls from either entity requesting money to update this for you. If you receive a call from someone offering to do this for you for compensation, this is a scammer. To update your information, please see our FMCSA Page

MCS Content

Permits for Commercial Motor Carriers

Permits, Fees, GVW Fee Permits, Montana Winter Weight Permit, Route (Road Conditions/Map), FMCSA, Forms, Pilot Cars & Bridge System

If you’re transporting a load or have equipment that exceeds the legal width, length, height, or weight, a permit is required. A temporary fuel or licensing permit may also be needed if you are not registered in Montana.

Permits can now be ordered easily online through our MT ePART application. Use the following links to:

Permits can also be ordered by calling 406-444-7262. We're open 7:30 am - 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday (except holidays).

Access the permit regulations here.


If you do not license under IRP and register your truck at the Montana county in which you live, you may pay Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW fees) at the county when you license. Alternatively, these fees may be purchased from the Motor Carrier Services office in Helena, at one of our weigh stations, or from any MCS patrol officer.

You can pay GVW fees for a single month, multiple months, or a full year if you take advantage of an annual-term permit. These options are listed on the GVW Fees Chart at 100% and GVW Farm Fees Chart at 35%.

GVW Fee Permits

GVW Fee Permits - MCS has recently made an update to the way that this type of permit is processed through in ePART. If a carrier / third-party is issuing a permit for 55,000 lbs or higher, a current IRS Form 2290/HVUT must be submitted before the permit will be finalized.

Please see our HVUT web page for further information on the requirements; and for how to upload an IRS HVUT-Form 2290 and/or a County Registration in the ePART GVW Web Processing.

As a MT resident, you can continue to get your GVW Fee Permits through MDT, or you may go to your county registrar's office.

Montana Winter Weight Permit

More information can be found on the Montana Winter Weight Permit.

A reminder to check your route

When you begin issuing your own permits, it is important to remember your responsibility to check construction reports and load-speed restrictions to verify that the route you plan to take does not have unanticipated restrictions.

Check Road Conditions | Montana Road Report Map

Is your federal information up-to-date?

To avoid unnecessary delays with MCS, please make sure that your information on the FMCSA Motor Carrier Unified Registration System is current. MCS does reference this information when a new account is set-up; and/or periodically as needed. Discrepancies between information provided to MCS and what shows up in the federal system, will slow down MCS processes.

If your business has changed its Company Name, USDOT number, TIN (Tax Identification number), and/or mailing or physical address, please make sure to update your forms on the FMCSA site. After this has been completed, please notify MCS at 406-444-6130 so that MCS can keep your account information updated on our MCS systems.


For permitting forms, please see our forms page.

Pilot Car Information

Pilot Car Escort Vehicle training publications, including best practices guidelines, best practices for law enforcement, a study guide, training manual, and PowerPoint slides, all of which may be accessed at FHWA Freight Management and Operations, scroll to the Pilot/Escort Vehicle Operators section.

The best practices guidelines document summarizes the material found in the 2016 Pilot/Escort Vehicle Operators (P/EVOs) Training Manual.

Bridge Structure Management System

MDT has completed the Structure Management System. Now you can:

  • search bridge information
  • view inspection reports
  • look up bridge heights
  • view locations of bridges with load restrictions

Please see the letter on the Structure Management System.

Please review the tutorial and some items to note from the tutorial:

  • This will take you directly into SMS. If you get an error, or Internet Explorer crashes, make sure you have the latest version of Microsoft Silverlight on your computer.
  • A window will come up asking if you want to display mixed content. Click Yes. If you do not see this window, and SMS seems to freeze up, make sure this window isn’t hiding under your main window.


For more information about permits, please call Motor Carrier Services in Helena at 406-444-7262 or consult the Trucker's Handbook.