Montana Department of Transportation

Montana Department of Transportation


Rail Service Competition Council


railroad tracks

The Rail Service Competition Council (RSCC) was created in 2005 by the State of Montana Legislature to promote rail service competition in Montana.

The council works to promote rail service competition in the state, develop related plans, evaluate taxing practices, assess organizational structures to help facilitate development of rail services, coordinate with railroads, and promote expansion and construction of rail services.

The 14-member council is organized into three subcommittees and meets on a regular basis.

Council Duties