The International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) is a fuel-licensing program, which companies may license vehicles powered by diesel fuel for travel in more than one jurisdiction. The procedures are similar to licensing under the International Registration Plan. For additional information, phone 406-444-2998 or visit IFTA online.
If you have a commercial trucking business based in Montana and you travel to at least one other state or Canadian province, you may be eligible to license under the International Registration Plan (IRP). The following is what you will need to get started: New IRP account with the State of Montana
IRP is a vehicle registration program that allows a carrier to license commercial trucks in one state (base or home state) for travel in the 48 continental US states and eleven Canadian provinces. Each truck is issued one registration (cab card) and license plate. The registration lists each jurisdiction in which you will travel. For additional information, Monday thru Friday 8am - 5pm phone the Helena office at 406-444-2998.
MT is now sharing IRP / Prorate information to all states.
How does this help you?
Enforcement personnel in other states can tell if you are prorated and current on your registration by running your plate number, VIN number, and/or USDOT number.
If an accident occurs, the company information is passed onto the Enforcement personnel.
What does this mean to you?
MCS will be requesting updated Contact Information on the company.
MCS will be requesting the phone number on the vehicle level for the owner of the vehicle, not who is responsible for the safety of the vehicle.
Federal regulations require all states to verify payment of, or exemption from the tax before issuing or renewing vehicle registrations. Before a vehicle is registered, the owner must provide proof this tax has been paid. Thisis done at the time of licensing at the county or in MCS when registering under the IRP.
If you operate a truck or bus in interstate or international commerce there is a new federal law that applies to your business. The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) program requires individuals and companies that operate commercial motor vehicles in interstate or international commerce to register their business with Montana and pay an annual fee based on the size of their fleet.
A "commercial motor vehicle" is defined as a self-propelled or towed vehicle used on the highways in commerce principally to transport passengers or cargo, if the vehicle:
a. has a gross vehicle weight of 10,001 pounds or more;
b. is designed to transport 11 or more passengers (including the driver); or
c. is used in transporting hazardous materials in a quantity requiring placarding.
You must register by July 15, 2010 in order to be in compliance to operate in interstate commerce.
The fee brackets for motor carriers are as follows:
|Fee Brackets for Motor Carriers|
|Number of CMV’s owned or operated by exempt or non-exempt motor carrier, motor private carrier, or freight forwarder||Fee per entity for exempt or non-exempt motor carrier, motor private carrier or freight forwarder||Fee per entity for broker or leasing company|
|1,001 or more||$73,346.00|
Example: A motor carrier operating four tractors, eight trailers and nine straight trucks has a fleet size of twenty-one commercial motor vehicles and pays $1,576.00.
To avoid delays, it is highly recommended that you register on-line. Go to www.ucr.in.gov and follow the step-by-step instructions. Payments may be made on-line using MasterCard, Visa or e-Check.
Services offered by other Montana state or county departments:
Commercial Drivers Licenses –
The Montana Department of Justice - Motor Vehicle Division is responsible for driver licensing and driver accident records. For more information, visit the CDL website or call 406-444-4536.
For the New Medical Certification Requirements for Montana Commercial Driver License Holders, visit the Medical Certificate website.
Registration Purposes Only –
Out of state residents who are temporarily working in Montana or are using their vehicle for hire, compensation or profit, must display Montana plates and pay taxes for using Montana public roadways. Because they are not Montana residents, they cannot title their vehicles in Montana. To qualify for a registration purposes only permit, the out of state resident must provide a current out of state registration. A temporary registration is acceptable, as long as it's current. http://data.opi.mt.gov/bills/mca/61/3/61-3-701.htm
Intrastate Licensing and Registration –
If you are only traveling in the state of Montana and wish to register your vehicle, complete out and submit an Intrastate License Application.
Title & Registration -
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
Montana Department of Justice
1003 Buckskin Drive
Deer Lodge, MT 59722