Visit an
inspection station

Protect your child.

Know the law

Know the 4 steps for kids

Child safety seat hasics

Children not in a properly installed safety seat are at risk
for injury in a crash. If you’re unsure how to install a car
seat or want your car seat checked, visit an inspection
station. A nationally certified child passenger safety
technician will inspect your child safety seat and show
you how to use it correctly.

To locate a free inspection station near you,
call 1-877-330-BUCKL(2825) or visit the following:
https://www.safercar.gov/cpsApp/cps/index.htm

Montana Department of Transportation
Montana State Highway Traffic Safety Section
406-444-0809

* The information in this brochure was compiled from Montana’s
Vision Zero website, Safe Kids Worldwide, and the National Highway
Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) Parents Central website:
www.safercar.gov/parents/index.htm
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Montana’s Child Passenger Safety Team
Saving lives...one car seat at a time

http://www.mdt.mt.gov/visionzero/people/cps-events.shtml

The Montana Department of Transportation attempts to provide
accommodation for any known disability that may interfere with
participation in any MDT service, program, or activity. Alternative
accessible formats of this material will be provided on request.
For further information, call 406-444-0809, fax 406-444-9409, or
TTY 800-335-7592 (or Montana Relay at 7-1-1). 50,000 copies
of this document were published at an estimated cost of $0.082
per copy, for a total cost of $4,100, which includes printing

and distribution.
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VISION ZERS

Montana law states: “If a child under 6 years of age and
weighing less than 60 pounds is a passenger in a motor
vehicle, that motor vehicle must be equipped with one
child safety restraint for each child in the vehicle and
each child must be properly restrained. The child safety
restraint must be appropriate for the height and weight
of the child as indicated by manufacturer standards.”

Failure to comply with the child restraint law is
punishable by a fine up to $100.
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Did you know

* In Montana, one of the most common causes of
unintentional injury death for children ages 1-14
is a motor vehicle crash.!

e Nationwide, 3 out of 4 children are not as safe in
their vehicle as they should be because car seats
are not used or installed correctly.?

e Be a good example and buckle up every trip,
every time, because when adults are buckled,
kids are buckled.

e Correctly used child safety seats can reduce the
risk of death by as much as 71%.3

e Always register your car seat to ensure that you
are notified if there is ever a recall on that seat.

! Montana Department of Public Health & Human Services

2 Safe Kids Worldwide
3 Safe Kids Worldwide

Rear-facing car seat

These include infant-only and
convertible seats and are the
best for a young child. It has a
harness and in a crash, cradles
and moves with your child to
reduce stress to the child’s
fragile neck and spinal cord while
allowing the back of the seat to
absorb the crash forces.

Forward-facing car seat

This seat has a harness and tether to
position your child and limit forward
movement during a crash.

Booster seat

A booster seat raises your child
up so the vehicle’s lap and
shoulder belt fits properly over
the strongest parts of the body.
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Seat belt

The seat belt should lie across
the upper thighs and be snug
across the shoulder and chest. It
should not rest on the stomach
area or across the neck.
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What is LATCH? =
Lower Anchors and Tethers &
for Children (LATCH) is an

alternative way to attach

the child safety seat to the vehicle. LATCH has been
available in most vehicles since 2002. Top Tether
anchors have been available since 2000.

Anchor. Tether.

LATCH

The next generation
of child safety.
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Birth up to 2 years

AGE: 2 - 4 years

AGE: 5 - 8 years

AGE: 8 - 12 years

The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) now
recommends a rear-facing car seat until the age of 2
or until the child reaches the height or weight limits of
the car seat.

Types of rear-facing car seats:

¢ Infant-only: Usually lighter and more portable than
other car seats. When your child outgrows this
seat, he/she should be moved into a convertible
or 3-in-1 seat in the rear-facing position.

e Convertible: Can be either rear- or forward-facing.
Typically, it has higher height and weight limits for
the rear-facing position.

e 3-in-1/All-in-One: Can be used as a rear-facing
seat, forward-facing harness seat, then as a
booster seat without a harness.

Your child should ride in a rear-facing car seat starting
with the trip home from the hospital.

Never place a rear-facing car seat in front of an
active airbag.

Read your car seat labels and instruction manual
for proper use and installation, including height,
weight, and age limits. Refer to your vehicle owner’s
manual for additional guidelines.

Keep your child in a rear-facing car seat for as long
as possible. When your child outgrows the rear-facing
car seat, switch to a forward-facing car seat installed
in the back seat.

Types of forward-facing car seats:

e Convertible: These seats convert from rear-facing
to forward-facing.

e Forward-facing only: Used with a harness; for
children weighing 22 to 40 pounds (and possibly
heavier, depending on the specific seat).

e 3-in-1/All-in-One: These seats offer parents the
option of buying one seat for use as rear-facing,
forward-facing, and booster.

e Combination: Different from the All-in-One, since
it only converts from a forward-facing seat with a
harness to a booster seat without a harness.

Read your car seat labels, car seat instruction
manual, and vehicle owner’s manual for proper
use and installation.

A child should remain in a forward-facing car seat
until reaching the top height, weight, or age limit
allowed by the car seat manufacturer. Once your
child outgrows this car seat, use a booster seat in
the back seat.

Types of booster seats:

¢ High-Back Booster: Recommended if your car
has a low seat back and if it does not offer any
support for your child’s head by the back cushion
or a headrest.

e Backless Booster: If your vehicle’s seat is high
enough to support your child’s head—by the seat
itself or a headrest—then a backless booster seat
can be used.

e Combination/All-in-One: Converts to a booster
seat once your child reaches the height and
weight limits of the forward-facing harness seat.
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Your child should remain in a booster seat until old
enough and big enough to fit in a lap and shoulder belt
properly —typically between 8 and 12 years of age and
about 4°9” tall.

Seat belt readiness guidelines:
e Able to keep back straight against the vehicle seat.

e Knees are naturally bent over the edge of the
vehicle seat.

e |ap belt lies snugly across the upper thighs, not
the stomach.

e Shoulder belt lies snug across the shoulder and
chest, not across the neck or face.

Never let your child put the shoulder belt under the
arm or behind the back. This eliminates all upper body
protection and can cause severe injury in a crash.

Children should continue to ride in the back seat until
they are at least 13 years of age.






