Your

Driving

Record is

For Life
Myth:

Once 3 years pass with no new

traffic violations, a driver has a
“clean” driving record.

TITLE 61 CHAPTER 11 PART 1 AND PART 5 MCA
RECORDS AND REPORTS OF CONVICTIONS
MCA 33-18-210 (9)

Reality:

¢ Traffic convictions stay on your driving record for life!

The law restricts how some aspects of a driving
record may be used.

While convictions older than three years may not
affect your insurance rates, convictions for 2nd or
subsequent DUI violation will affect your record for
five years between the date of the prior offense and
the date of the most recent offense.

All of the information on your motor vehicle record
remains part of your permanent record.

From year to year, and from state to state, your
driver history stays with you.

Your privilege, our obligation, safe driving counts.
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Licensed Driving in Montana: Your Privilege,
Our Obligation, . . . Your Choice

* Anyone who operates a motor vehicle on * Law enforcement agencies,
public roadways in Montana is required to prosecutors, the courts and a wide
have a Driver’s License. range of city, county and state agencies
* If you violate traffic laws, your Driving are working together to fulfill their
Privilege may be withdrawn. Your driver’s Obligation to enforce the law and
license may be suspended, revoked or cancelled. make Montana highways safer.
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Traffic School

MCA § 61-5-219

Whether it's ordered by the court or
arranged by someone who cares, traffic
school can help you or someone you love to
be a better, safer driver. Sign up for a course
at a location near you.

For more information regarding department
approved driver rehabilitation programs, visit
http://www.doj.state.mt.us/driving/default.asp

Montana law authorizes that a person who
submits a certificate of completion from a
department-approved driver rehabilitation
program must receive a 50% reduction on a
driver license reinstatement fee.
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The $ Cost
of DUI

MCA § 61-8-714
MCA § 61-2-107
MCA § 61-5-208
MCA § 61-8-733

If you are convicted of Driving Under the Influence

of Alcohol or Drugs, significant costs add up fast: fines,
increased insurance, substance abuse counseling, treatment,
driver’s license reinstatement, and ignition interlock.

* Fines — up to $5,000 or more

* Automobile Insurance - an increase of $3,000 or more
every six months

* Substance Abuse Treatment - at least $250 for ACT -
Alcohol/Drug Treatment may cost thousands of dollars

* License Reinstatement - a $200 fee to the State of Montana

¢ Ignition Interlock - set-up fees and monthly costs per
vehicle of $75 or more
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DUI 2nd Oﬁen se If you are convicted of a 2nd offense of

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
or Drugs, you won't drive at all for at least a
year . ..and a court can order that any vehicle
you own be seized by the arresting agency
and forfeited in accordance with law.

MCA § 61-5-208
MCA § 61-8-733
DOT S04

A Public Safety Message from the Montana Department of Transportation and the Motor Vehicle S )
e

Division of the Montana Department of Justice * For More Information, Email mvd@state.mbus . o myese,  srmir il



Convicted DUI offenders may be restricted to
operating only those vehicles that are equipped
with an ignition interlock device. To start the
vehicle, the driver must blow into a handset
that tests the driver's breath for the presence

Ignition Interlock o

An ignition interlock device will Stop Drunk
Driving. When alcohol is detected, the car
won't start,

MCA § 61-5-208
MCA § 61-8-733
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Blood Alcohol
Concentration

o 0,08%

MCA § 61-8-401
MCA § 61-8-406

To determine when a person is Driving
Under the Influence of Alcohol, Montana
law recognizes different blood alcohol levels
(Blood Alcohol Concentration or “BAC”)

For drivers operating non-commercial vehicles,
a 0.08% BAC is the level whereby a person's
ability to safely operate a vehicle is deemed to
be diminished. It is unlawful and punishable to
drive or be in actual physical control of a
vehicle while a person’s BAC is 0.08% or more.

Your privilege, our obligation, . . .
it’s not worth it to drink and drive!
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In terms of Blood Alcohol concentration (“BAC"),
different levels have different meanings:
BIOOd AlcohOI * 0.02% BAC—Any Measurable Amount. . . IF YOU
ARE UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE, ANY MEASURABLE

*
Concentratlon AMOUNT OF ALCOHOL IN YOUR SYSTEM

CONSTITUTES DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE.

[:Il'iVEl‘S 0 0 2 O/ * 0.04% BAC—Any driver can be proven to be unsafe,
Under 21 8 0 .. AND If YOU OPERATE A COMMERCIAL VEHICLE,

THE LEVEL IS LOWER:
C°“"S:’I’v°:’;‘; 0 O 4 0/ o 0.04% BAC IS SUFFICIENT FOR A COMMERCIAL
@ 0 DRIVER TO BE CHARGED WITH DRIVING UNDER
THE INFLUENCE,

MCA § 61-8-410
MCA § 61-8-406
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A BLOOD ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION (BAC) OF

0.16% IS A VERY HIGH BAC. UPON CONVICTION
B|00d AlCOhOI FOR DUI, A HIGH BAC MAY TRIGGER

SIGNIFICANTLY INCREASED PENALTIES . . .

Concentration EVEN FOR A FIRST TIME OFFENDER.

0 If the person’s blood alcohol concentration at the
O 1 6 / time of arrest was 0.16% or greater, a court may
» 0 require the person to pay the cost of leasing,
installing and maintaining an ignition interlock
device before any probationary license will be
granted: set-up ¢ Larges and at least $75 per
vehicle per month.

MCA§61-8-442  Your privilege, our obligation, . . . it’s not worth it to drink and drive!
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Eiil'l Muyth: How | drive my personal vehicle has
Y yp

’ l & ffect C ial Driver’s License.

Driver s ic nse— no efrec upon mY ommercial Driver's License

Reality: If you commit a major traffic offense
while driving a non-commercial vehicle, your
commerdial driver’s license can be suspended or
revoked . .. sometimes even for life:

* DUI;

* Driving your personal vehicle with a Blood
Alcohol Concentration of 0.08% or more;

* Leaving the Scene of an Accident with a
Your privilege, our obligation, . . . Death or Personal Injury;

it’s not worth it to drink and drive!

* Using a Motor Vehicle in the Commission
of a Felony

MCA § 61-8-802 e
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Com merCiaI * A conviction for:

Driving a motor vehicle while under the

Dl'iver's I.icense — influence of alcohol, a drug, or a

combination of the two;

Driving a noncommercial motor vehicle
and having an alcohol concentration of
0.08% or more;

Driving a commercial motor vehicle and
having an alcohol concentration of 0.04%

Your commercial driver’s license can be or more;

# s "
suspended for these “major offenses”. Leaving the scene of an accident involving

* Arefusal to take a test under an implied death or personal injury or failing to give
consent law; information and render aid.

MCA § 61-8-802
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Commercial
Driver’s License —

-

*

MCA § 61-8-803

A Public Safety Message from the Montana Department of Transportation and the Motor Vehicle

SEeeding in excess of 15 miles an hour
above a posted speed limit;

Reckless driving;
Improper or erratic traffic lane changes;
Following too dosely;

A violation arising in connection with a
fatal accident;

Operating a commerdial motor vehicle
without a CDL;

Operating a commerdial motor vehicle
without a CDL in one’s possession or
refusing to display a CDL upon request;

Operating a commerdial motor vehicle
without the proper COMMERCIAL
DRIVERS LICENSE class / endorsements
for the type of vehicle being operated,
passengers or type of cargo being
transported;

Commercial drivers who commit serious traffic violations can lose their
driver’s license, and when the Montana Motor Vehicle Division receives notice

of conviction . . . the period of suspension or revocation is just beginning.
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Liability Insurance

MCA § 61-6-301
MCA § 61-11-203

A Public Safety Message

from the Montana Department of Transportation and the Motor Vehicle
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Liability is imposed by law for bodily
injury, death or damage to property caused
by maintenance or use of a motor vehicle.

¢ The owner of a vehicle that is registered
and operated in Montana must provide
insurance for loss resulting from liability,

* Itis unlawful for a person to operate a
motor vehicle without a valid motor
vehicle liability insurance policy in effect.

Conviction for any mandatory motor vehicle
liability protection offense = 5 Conviction
Points on your Driving Record.

C R




When someone is convicted of a serious
offense like drug possession, aggravated

Motor Vehicle Used st ion partner o amily membe

assault, or attempting to elude a peace

in the Commission i
of a Crime ... and a motor vehicle is used,

Licensed Driving in Montana: Your privilege,

our obligation, ... your choice For a felony offense involving a controlled

substance while driving a commercial vehicle,

the convicted offender’s commercial driver's
MCA § 61-5-205 . :
MCA § 61--802 license will be suspended for life!
MCA § 61-6-604

DOT 5/04

A Public Safety Message from the Montana Department of Transportation and the Motor Vehicle — Srigge ¢
Division of the Montana Department of Justice * For More Information, Email mvd@state.mbus . o e ons, S ime s




DriVing Wh i Ie Imprisonment for at least 2 days and up to 6 months . ..

A fine of as much as $500 . ..

suspended an additional year added on to the required period of
or ReVOked driver's license suspension or revocation ...

6 Conviction Points on your Montana Motor
Vehicle Record . ...

Consider your obligation...licensed driving matters.

MCA § 61-5-212
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