Montana Department of Transportation

Main Content


DUI Courts

Changing the culture of the addicted

Judge Runsabove presiding
Judge Danna Runsabove
presides over the Fort
Peck DUI Court

The DUI court is a distinct court system dedicated to changing the behavior of alcohol/drug dependant offenders arrested for driving under the influence/driving while impaired (DUI/DUI).

DUI Courts in Montana

The Office of Court Administrator recognizes the following specialized DUI and hybrid DUI/drug courts in the state of Montana:

Specialized DUI Courts
7th Judicial District DUI Court Dawson, McCone, Prairie, Richland, Wibaux Counties
Fort Peck Tribal DUI Court Fort Peck Reservation
Butte-Silver Bow DUI Court Butte-Silver Bow Counties
Yellowstone County Impaired Driving Court (13th Judicial District) Yellowstone County
Hybrid DUI/Drug Courts
Custer County Adult Treatment Court (District Court) Custer County
Hill County Justice Court Hill County
Gallatin County Adult Treatment Court (District Court) Gallatin County
8th Judicial District Adult Treatment Court Cascade County
8th Judicial District Adult Treatment Court Glacier, Pondera, Toole, Teton Counties
Billings Municipal DUI/Drug Court City of Billings

DUI Court Training

A DUI court team must attend training before proceeding to implement the DUI court model. MDT has funded the following DUI court teams to go to training:

DUI Court Training
2012 Hill County Justice Court
2011 9th Judicial District (Glacier, Pondera, Toole, Teton counties)
2010 Mineral County Justice Court
Lake County Justice Court / City of Polson
City of Laurel
2009 Kalispell Municipal Court
Missoula County Justice Court II
7th Judicial District (Dawson, McCone, Prairie, Richland and Wibaux Counties)
Fort Peck Tribal Court
Butte-Silver Bow County Justice Court
2008 Billings Municipal Court



, State Drug Court Coordinator
Office of Court Administrator
Montana Supreme Court

, Program Manager
State Highway Traffic Safety Section