


•	Anyone who thinks a DUI is “no big deal”

•	All Montana drivers

•	Parents of young drivers

•	Employers

•	Educators

•	Health professionals

On average, each year on Montana’s roads, alcohol/
drug-related driving has been a factor in

•	10 percent of all traffic crashes

•	roughly 20 percent of all injuries

•	almost 50 percent of deaths

Were these preventable? WE CAN DO BETTER!

What’s the big deal about DUI?
“I’ve been drunk and driven home before…. 
lots of times. Nothing has ever happened.”

That’s the deception… 
Just because you’ve done it before doesn’t mean you 
will always get away with it. Ask any of the individuals 
who thought the same thing…and are now in prison  
for killing someone.

So the big deal about DUI is it’s a lot like  
Russian roulette.  

When you launch a 3000-pound vehicle down the  
road, and your ability to operate that vehicle is  
impaired, you can do a lot of damage…to yourself  
and to innocent people.

Serious traffic convictions stay on your 
driving record for life. It may be used:

By your vehicle insurer: From date of conviction for 
three to five years, your insurance company may require 
higher rates. They may cancel your policy.

By the courts: DUI convictions stay on your record for 
life. They stack up: A fourth DUI conviction is a felony. 
Your DUI may be considered in any future sentencing, 
no matter how minor.

By your employer: Positions that require driving 
include regular review of your driving record. Even if you 
were DUI in a private vehicle, your commercial driving 
privileges can be suspended—possibly for life.

By the Motor Vehicle Division: After just one DUI/BAC 
conviction, your driver license will be suspended: first 
offense, suspended for 6 months; subsequent offense, 
license suspension for 1 year or more.

By the federal government: Driving records are 
checked during naturalization/citizenship proceedings 
and for military security clearance.

By rental car companies: Many companies will check 
customers’ records and reject those who don’t meet 
their standards.

By Border Security:  
U.S. citizens with a DUI  
need formal approval from 
authorities in order to  
enter Canada.

Who Should Read This?

The cost of DUI

Bottom line:   
It’s not worth the risk.

Your Driving Record
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Driving under the influence is a crime—the most 
deadly crime in America. If you are found driving while 
impaired, expect to be arrested and go to jail. 

Refusing a breathalyzer test won’t help. In many cases, 
an officer can phone a judge for an immediate search 
warrant to draw blood evidence from you.

What is BAC? Alcohol concentration is measured  
by the percentage of alcohol (ethanol) in the blood  
or breath.

BAC: It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with  
blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08  
or higher. No proof of impairment is required. It’s all  
about the BAC.  

•	A commercial vehicle operator’s threshold  
is a BAC of 0.04.

•	The threshold for persons under age 21  
is a BAC of 0.02. 

§ 61-8-406 and 410, MCA

THC: Marijuana-impaired driving. A 2013 law 
establishes 5 ng/ml of Delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol 
as excessive marijuana concentration. No proof of 
impairment is required. It’s all about the THC.

§ 61-8-406, MCA 

DUI: It is illegal to drive while under the influence of 
alcohol and/or drugs.  

BAC is not required for a DUI conviction; the evidence is 
your diminished ability to operate a vehicle safely.  

§ 61-8-401, MCA

Aggravated DUI: You could be charged with 
Aggravated DUI if you are driving under the influence or 
with a BAC of 0.08 or more plus one of the following:

•	BAC is 0.16 or higher

•	Already subject to ignition interlock restrictions

•	Driver’s license or privilege to drive is suspended, 
canceled, or revoked as a result of a prior DUI/
BAC violation

•	Prior refusal to provide a breath or blood sample

•	Prior DUI/BAC conviction

•	Pending charge for DUI/BAC
§ 61-8-465, MCA

Felony DUI
A 4th DUI conviction is a felony. Any convictions for 
BAC, DUI, and Aggravated DUI count. Penalties include 
a fine up to $10,000 and sentencing to the Department 
of Corrections for rehabilitation. This could be prison or 
a 6-month inpatient treatment program called WATCh—
followed by treatment aftercare and monitoring by a 
DOC probation officer. This includes random drug/
alcohol testing, community service, no alcohol 
consumption, and no bars. You may not be allowed to 
get a driver’s license.  If you are allowed to drive, the 
vehicle must have an ignition interlock system. 

§ 61-8-731, MCA

Vehicular homicide while under the influence
If you injure or kill someone while DUI, you can be 
convicted of vehicular homicide while under the 
influence. Expect a prison term up to 30 years and  
fines up to $50,000, or both. 

§ 45-5-106, MCA
MCA = Montana Code Annotated

Know Montana’s law…

The cost of DUI

With sufficient evidence of impairment, you can be 
convicted of DUI even if your BAC is below 0.08.
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To Your Bank Account:

In overall costs, a DUI can cost a first offender  
$5,000 to $6,000. 

•	Fines: $300 – $1,000

•	Court costs/fees: $135 (if there is no trial)

•	Jury/witness costs: $400-$500 (for a trial)

•	Attorney fees: $150 for public defender and 
$70/hour if it goes to trial or $100-$300/hour for 
private counsel

•	Vehicle impound and towing 

•	Chemical dependency assessment and 
mandatory alcohol classes: $325 or more

•	Driver license reinstatement fee: $200

Additional options that the Judge may order:

•	Victim’s Impact Panel: Cost varies

•	Ignition Interlock: $75-$120 installation plus  
$70/month

•	Transdermal alcohol monitoring device:  
$10-12/day or $300-360/month

•	24-7 Sobriety Program:  $4 per day or  
$120/month

If the alcohol assessment mandates treatment, you 
could pay thousands of dollars out-of-pocket. 

A DUI crash may easily cost more than $100,000 if 
injuries are involved. Your wages could be garnished 
indefinitely due to a civil judgment for personal injury 
and punitive damages if anyone was injured or killed 
while you were driving under the influence. 

The Cost of DUI

Is that drive home worth the chance 
you could lose your house?

The cost of DUI

Have a prior DUI? Repeat offenders can expect 
to pay even more, especially under changes to 

Montana’s DUI laws enacted in 2013. 
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To Your Insurance:

Most standard insurance companies won’t insure 
individuals with two or more major violations: a DUI 
counts as two because of license suspension. Some 
companies will move you to a “high risk” pool with 
higher rates. 

One DUI could double your auto insurance rate. If you 
get any additional traffic violation citations, the insurer 
may add another 30% to the already doubled premium.  

A second DUI may triple your insurance premium, if the 
company will even insure you.

If there is a driver in the household with a suspended 
license, the insurance company may cancel the entire 
household’s coverage. If you have an umbrella policy 
that covers your boat or motorcycle, you will lose that 
insurance, too.

Insurance companies typically look back 3 to 5 years 
for rate calculation, so a DUI will affect your vehicle 
insurance rates for several years.

No company car
If driving is part of your job, your employer’s insurance 
rates may go up as well. Fleet vehicle insurance policies 
disallow operators with a DUI. 

Your Better Judgment is the First to Go

“I only have to go a short distance.”  
“I’ll take the back roads.” 

“I’ll drive slowly; I’ll be fine.” 

Alcohol affects judgment. So if you’ve been drinking, 
you can’t rely on your brain to make good decisions 
about driving. 

By the time you reach 0.08 BAC, you perceive you’re 
functioning better than you actually are. Driving skills—
such as braking, steering, judgment and focus, among 
others—begin to deteriorate at 0.05 BAC or even lower. 
Laboratory and test track research shows that virtually 
all drivers, even experienced drinkers, are substantially 
impaired in critical driving tasks at 0.08.

Studies have also shown that alcohol makes you more 
likely to take risks and underestimate the potential 
consequences.

Meanwhile, alcohol slows down your reaction time to 
hazards: you may not react at all. 

The Cost of DUI

DUI consequences can  
devastate families and futures. 

Impaired Judgment
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•	Arrange for a sober friend to pick you up and  
take you home. Don’t like asking for a lift? 
Imagine the hassle of begging rides when you 
lose your license.

•	Choose a bar next to a hotel. A room is extremely 
cheap compared to the cost of a DUI. 

•	Take turns being the responsible person who 
picks everyone up and takes them home safely. 
Chip in for a free dinner and a tank of gas for the 
sober driver.

•	Plan in advance for a taxi ride or a shuttle. Find 
out if your community has a safe-ride program. 

	

•	Avoid drinking where driving alternatives  
are limited. 

•	Space your drinking. Drink water or non-alcoholic 
beverages between drinks.

•	Limit your drinking—quit after 2 or 3 drinks and 
wait at least 2 hours before driving home. 

•	Moderate the absorption of alcohol by eating 
food. Avoid drinking on an empty stomach.

A Better Idea, Plan Ahead

Above all, be smart.  
Don’t ever get into a vehicle  

with a driver who has been drinking
—even yourself!
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Learn more about the full cost of DUI:
•	Impact on career

•	Unexpected and unwanted reminders

•	Emotional and psychological burden

•	Reduced freedom

•	Lost opportunities

Go to:￼

￼

The Montana Department of Transportation attempts to provide 
accommodation for any known disability that may interfere with 
participation in any MDT service, program or activity. Alternative 
accessible formats of this material will be provided on request.  
For further information, call 406.444.7411, FAX 406.444-9409 or  
TTY 800.335.7592 (or Montana Relay at 7-1-1). _________ copies  
of this document were published at an estimated cost of _______  
per copy for a total cost of  _____________ which includes printing  
and distribution. 

www.mdt.mt.gov

The cost of DUI
lasts a lifetime.
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