
 

Become a certified child 
passenger safety technician.   

Use your new skills to teach parents and 
caregivers about proper  

car seat safety for their children. 

Make a difference…  
Help ensure Montana’s little ones are 

safer while traveling. 
There is no conflict of interest for any Planners or  

Presenters of this activity. 

Course highlights 

Reference manual to take home 

30-40-hour course with 3 written tests, 3 

skills evaluations 

Hands-on experience installing car seats  

Participate in a real community car seat 

checkup event! 

Classroom Information 

Hands-on activities to become familiar with all 

types of car seats and seat belt systems 

Learn which car seat systems are appropriate 

for different age & weight of children and how 

to correctly install them 

 Optimal instructor-participant ratio for 

maximum learning 

This continuing nursing education activity 
was approved by Montana Nurses Associ-
ation, an accredited approver by the 
American Nurses Credentialing Center’s 
Commission on Accreditation.  
There is no conflict of interest for any 
planner or provider of this activity  
Criteria for successful completion: Partici-
pant must attend the entire course, pass 3 
written exams with at least 42 out of 50 
correct, pass 3 skills assessments, and 
participate in the car seat checkup event  

Who should attend? 
 Parents 
 Car dealerships 
 Teachers 
 Child care providers 
 Firefighters 
 Head Start personnel 
 Law enforcement 
 Caregivers 
 Medical personnel/Registered 

Nurses 
 Emergency medical technicians 

A $200 stipend may be available for 
those traveling more than 50 miles 

each way to attend the 3-4 day 
training!  

Montana Department of Transportation attempts to provide accommodations for any known disability that may interfere with a 

person participating in any service, program or activity of the Department. Alternative accessible formats of this information will 

be provided upon request.  For further information:  (406) 444-0809; TTY (800) 335-7592; Montana Relay at 7ll; or fax (406) 

444-9409.   

 

 
 
 
 
 
October 5, 12, 19, 2019 
Missoula, MT — Controlled Class 
Lonie Hutchison  
 
December 4-6, 2019 
Bozeman, MT 
Fire Dept — Controlled Class 
Scott Mueller (406) 582-2350 
 
January 28-31, 2020 
Helena, MT— Controlled Class 
Tracie Kiesel (406) 324-1072 
 
May 6, 2020—CANCELLED 
INSTRUCTOR UPDATE 
May 7, 2020 
TECHNICIAN UPDATE 
Helena, MT    
Erin Root (406) 444-0809 
 
August 8, 2020 
TECHNICIAN UPDATE 
Billings, MT    
Koren Bloom (406) 259-9601 
 
September 9-12, 2020 
Billings, MT    
Koren Bloom (406) 259-9601 
 
September 15-18, 2020 
Great Falls, MT    
Mary Kay Burns (406) 454-5072 
 
Questions? 
Erin Root — MDT Safety Planner 
(406) 444-0809 
eroot@mt.gov 
Hearing impaired: 1-800-335-7592 
or 
Montana Relay at 711 
 

 POST  Credits are available for law 
enforcement 

 Teachers can earn 28 Renewal 
Units 

 EMT’s and Paramedics can earn 24 
hours credits  

To register 

 Go to http://cert.safekids.org 

 Click on “Find a Course” and follow the 

instructions 

 The $95 registration fee includes your 

first two years of certification  

Sign up today! 

(see website below) 


