

Montana Department of Transportation

PO Box 201001 Helena, MT 59620-1001

Memorandum

- To: e-distribution see listing below
- From: Lesly Tribelhorn, P.E. Highways Engineer \mathcal{LT}
- Date: September 26, 2018

Subject: Roadway Width and Rumble Strip Committee

This design memo serves as documentation of the revised process for determining roadway widths and the appropriate rumble strip treatment for new pavement projects.

Background

The MDT Road Design Manual, Guidelines for Nomination and Development of Pavement Projects, Route Segment Plan Map, and Rumble Strip Guidance are integral parts of the current design practice within MDT. Older guidance related to roadway width determination has been rescinded.

Roadway Width and Rumble Strip Committee

Effective immediately, the Roadway Width and Rumble Strip Committee (formerly known as the Rumble Strip Committee) will be called together to determine roadway widths and rumble strip use on sections of roadway that don't follow the recommendations provided in current guidance or those which require design exceptions for width. The committee should meet during the development of the Preliminary Field Review (PFR) report or as early in the project development process as possible. Decisions are to be documented in the PFR report or a standalone communication to the design team and reiterated in the Scope of Work report.

Considerations may include the following:

- Safety and operational concerns
- Accommodation for future pavement width
- Bicycle and pedestrian usage
- Pavement condition
- Route Segment Plan Map recommendation
- Road Design Manual and AASHTO guidance
- Project context and scope

Committee members will vary depending on the specific project. Key team members include: District Preconstruction Engineer, District Maintenance Chief, Traffic and Safety Engineer, Highways or Consultant Design Engineer, Traffic Safety Engineer, Bicycle & Pedestrian Coordinator, Pavement Analysis Engineer, and Project Design Manager. Other design team members should be invited as appropriate.

Electronic distribution:

Dustin Rouse, Preconstruction Engineer Kevin Christensen, Construction Engineer Lesly Tribelhorn, Highways Engineer James Combs, Highways Design Engineer Damian Krings, Road Design Engineer Roy Peterson, Traffic & Safety Engineer Ivan Ulberg, Traffic Design Engineer Patricia Burke, Traffic Safety Engineer Stephanie Brandenberger, Bridge Engineer Jeff Jackson, Materials Engineer (Acting) Ryan Dahlke, Consultant Design Engineer Bryan Miller, Consultant Plans Engineer Lisa Durbin, Construction Administration Services Engineer Paul Jagoda, Construction Engineering Services Engineer Jake Goettle, Engineering Construction Contracting Bureau Chief Jim Frank, Glendive District Preconstruction Engineer Rod Nelson, Billings District Preconstruction Engineer Duane Liebel, Butte District Preconstruction Engineer Shane Stack, Missoula District Preconstruction Engineer Steve Prinzing, Great Falls District Preconstruction Engineer John Cornell, Road Plans Checker Jerry Sabol, Road Plans Checker Jon Swartz, Maintenance Administrator Doug McBroom, Operations Manager Tom Martin, Environmental Services Bureau Chief Jim Davies, Pavement Analysis Engineer Carol Strizich, Statewide & Urban Planning Section Supervisor