The following training resources are available for stakeholders in Montana’s criminal justice system. These trainings promote best practice and consistency in identification, arrest, prosecution, and sentencing of traffic safety violators. Several trainings are available by request only.
January 28-30, 2014
Prosecuting the DUI - Billings, MT
February 10-11, 2014
Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) - Billings, MT
February 24 - 28, 2014
Prosecuting the Drugged Driver - Great Falls, MT
March 18, 2014
Cops in Court - Big Timber, MT
April 1-3, 2014
Prosecuting the DUI - Fort Harrison (Helena), MT
- Prosecutors and law enforcement officers will gain knowledge and skills necessary to successfully investigate and try DUI cases.
- Course Description and Registration
Courses available upon request
Please request training by contacting Barb Watson at or call 406-498-6941.
Cops In Court
This 4-hour course focuses on increasing the ability of law enforcement officers to communicate effectively and confidently in the courtroom. Designed for law enforcement officers with a wide variety of trial testimony experience, the course includes instruction and discussion on all aspects of trial preparation and courtroom testimony in an impaired driving case. Experts in the fields of law enforcement and prosecution present the curriculum, which includes:
- “What Jurors want” – courtroom preparation and testimony
- Report writing
- Goals and strategies of cross-examination
Legal / legislative update
This 2-hour training provides an update on the latest case rulings and legislation that affect Montana’s law enforcement and prosecution.
DUI search warrants
Learn about how other jurisdictions have successfully implemented telephonic search warrants for blood evidence in DUI cases, as allowed by § 61-8-402 (5), MCA following the passage of Senate Bill 42 by the 2011 Legislature.
Minimum course length is 1 hour but can be longer to allow for discussion and planning.
Ongoing – NO-COST distance learning opportunities
The Underage Drinking Enforcement Training Center (UDETC) offers NO-COST distance learning opportunities featuring courses that present best practices and strategies for reducing underage drinking.
These web-based, on-line courses are designed to provide basic information to the participant and serve as a foundation for on-site training provided by the UDETC. Participants can receive a certificate upon completion of one of these courses.
Free online courses include: